Withdrawal Agreement How Did My Mp Vote

After losing the third vote and the passage of the Cooper-Letwin Bill at third reading by a vote of 313 to 312, May and her cabinet considered the possibility of sending the withdrawal agreement back to Parliament for a fourth vote. [114] In mid-May, May said she would present the withdrawal agreement to Parliament in the first week of June. [115] Due to her strong opposition to the new deal, May postponed publication from May 24 to June 4 and subsequently resigned as prime minister. [116] This list includes votes from the House of Commons, the House of Lords, public bills committees and the Scottish Parliament. Immediately afterwards, Opposition Leader Jeremy Corbyn called for a vote of no confidence in the government, which took place on 16 January 2019. The government won the vote by 325 votes to 306, a majority of 19. [81] The day after the vote, May told the House of Commons on the Prime Minister`s questions: “We have seen concerns expressed about parliament`s role in relation to the Brexit process. What I agreed yesterday is that when the bill goes back to the Lords, we will have further discussions with our colleagues about these concerns. This morning I agreed with the Brexit Secretary that we are going to table an amendment to the Lords and that there are a number of things that will guide our approach in this regard. As my friend on the right, the Brexit Minister, made clear yesterday in plenary, the government`s hand cannot be bound by Parliament in negotiations, but the government must be accountable to Parliament. This neutral motion was amended and, prior to the vote on the main motion, the House of Commons voted on seven amendments proposed by Members and chosen by the Speaker.

[82] MPs voted on the government`s withdrawal agreement at second reading. With Boris Johnson`s majority of 80, the bill passed by a comfortable margin, with 358 votes in favour and 234 against. Many of the former Conservative MPs who lost the whip in an earlier vote to rebel against the government have also left. The government lost the vote on the calendar by 308 votes to 322. The Telegraph`s Asa Bennett tweeted some photos of the prime minister signing copies of the withdrawal agreement for MPs: thirty-two Labour MPs and 10 Conservatives did not vote. MPs voted in favour of the Prime Minister`s withdrawal agreement: this is the BBC`s political correspondent, Iain Watson. He says up to 30 Labour MPs abstained or stayed away from the vote on the Brexit bill this afternoon. .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by admin. Bookmark the permalink.